The Flying Nun by Brand X presents


In a first-time collaboration between Michelle St Anne and Sue Jo Wright, The Reckoning uses the body as a site for exploring structural violence, to expose systems of violence. Through music, performance, and Auslan, this work seeks to develop a shared commentary on how we hear and what it means to listen by interrogating ableist tropes and the Deaf experience.

Inspired by recent events, lived experience and insights by Amy Remeikis’ novella On Reckoning.

This work is currently in development for 2024.





The Flying Nun is a showcase of the outcomes from Performing Arts residencies with Brand X at the East Sydney Community and Arts Centre.

By its very nature, we celebrate the fringe, alternative and contemporary counter-culture, contributing multi-disciplinary creative risk-taking to the East Sydney Creative Precinct. Come and be the first audience to witness new work fresh out of the rehearsal room and by doing so, support Independent Artists with income and feedback to propel the work on to stages across Sydney.

Developments are supported by March Dance 22, 107 presents, City of Sydney, Inner West Council, Brand X – The Flying Nun, The Gladstone Hotel, Dulwich Hill

Image: Imogen Cranna
Photo: Natalie Carney

Friday 16 December | 7.00pm & Saturday 17 December | 8.00PM
Brand X | 34-40 Burton St, Darlinghurst NSW, 2010